Who’s Awesome! Teresa Douglass – March 2024

Teresa Douglass, genealogy specialist at the library’s Frederick Porter Griffin Center for Local History and Genealogy, is HCPL’s  March winner for Who’s Awesome! There were 19 nominations for the honor this month.

Kathy Fisher, genealogy head, nominated Teresa stating, “This month, Teresa was “accidentally awesome” in addition to her being overall awesome. She directly influenced two of the March Mania programs. I had forgotten that Roots Tech was going on until I noticed Teresa watching it. Boom! The Livestream Spotlight event was tacked on to the Mania last minute. She also thought ahead and had created a Women’s History Month document about some of the county’s influential ladies who had not previously been profiled. I used her work to create a PowerPoint presentation for that Spotlight. And both of those great ideas can be reused for future programming!”

Teresa joined HCPL’s staff in June of 2010 as a part-time assistant in the youth services department at Corydon. She transitioned to full-time genealogy specialist in June of 2016 where she can utilize her Masters in History to help visitors find information on their ancestors, share historical facts about early Harrison County and digitize important historical artifacts.

Teresa received two nominations this month. The second nomination read, “Teresa is a great asset to the FPGC. She is knowledgeable and has a great interest in the history of Harrison County. She has taken on the responsibility of digitizing the library’s historical records. In addition, Teresa is a caring individual volunteering with the community’s Big Brothers/Big Sisters program. She is attentive and professional. Visitors to the genealogy center have reached out to say Teresa has offered them excellent service. Teresa is awesome!”

Each month a winner is selected by random drawing. Other staff members nominated in March include, Ann Allen, the Corydon Circulation Department, Amanda Embrey, Nikki Esarey, Kathy Fisher, Connie Gresham, Lisa Griffith, Eve Kopsalias, John Kunsman, Diana Lasky, Shawnda Mosson, Bob Ohlrich, Leo Stiner, Debi Strubler, Ellie Tucker-Brown and Heather Wyss.

Article by Alisa Burch, Director

Scroll to Top